Gerald Shepherd – Selected Work: Alone In A Wood

From 1990 until very recently I worked in nature reserves, mainly during the autumn and winter months, throughout Wiltshire (in Southern England) as part of a voluntary management team.  However it wasn’t until 2010 with the acquisition of a smart phone that I began to take proper photographs of the woods and downlands where I worked.  Some of these images found there way into my “Meditative” landscapes.  This work is part of a large series of such paintings, although just to confuse matters this one wasn’t actually from a nature reserve (it wasn’t actually from Wiltshire either but from a wood near the Hampshire town where I now live) but I loved the atmosphere of the photo which I have sought to reproduce in an otherwise uncharacteristically simple picture.

It was painted in 2011 and I sold it several months after completion.

 

Alone In A Wood

Leave a Reply

